Czech Out My Pragueress: Entry 7

March 16, 2015

So after a long day of class I was off to the Rudolfinum, backpack and all, to meet up with babička. I think I’ll call it babička bonding time. This woman is adorable, always a smile on her face as we try to communicate through small words and charades. It could be the first Czech/English sitcom.

Although the symphony and the other classical music played there is amazing, the concert hall pleasant to the eye, the seats are not comfortable at all for someone of a taller breed, especially after a day bent over a desk studying. It is always a nice experience though. At first I thought it was to be just myself and babička but it turns out Lenka, my host mother and her friends were also there, they just were not seated with us.

I went to go get my coat and backpack from the cloakroom after the show, in what seemed to be in one of those forever lines. (Ladies:think those lines for the bathroom at a bar or intermission but longer). I think cellphones have made us even slower since every person was staring at their own instead of the line. I couldn’t stare at my phone since I was using a burner phone so I didn’t have to pay a million bucks on international roaming and such.

Lenka’s friend drove us all home, which was nice because I probably would have fallen asleep on the train (which would cause me to miss the tram and then the bus. Transportation is efficient but complicated for the untrained eye).

I told her if my journey the other day up to Prague Castle and my visit to a place called “Cukrkavalimonada” (Translation: Sugar, Coffee, lemonade) and how she had been there before. (I highly recommend the hot chocolate there)

She also recommended two other places near there but I couldn’t even remember them. Oh well, some things will be left up to mystery.

Leave a comment