Czech Out My Pragueress: Entry 6

February 6, 2015

After moaning and groaning to myself of how little time I have during my STUDY abroad time I have chosen to go easy on myself as the coming months and the rest of my life are plenty enough time to see the world and I don’t have to and am not expected to travel the entirety of Europe in 4 months.

Anyway… This past week I seemed to encounter one of the most difficult and sometimes frustrating circumstance accompanied with being mortal, getting sick. I had a sore throat and contracted pick eye (Funny enough, no one calls this ailment pink eye in Europe). I hate being sick. Ironically enough my best friend back in the states actually had contracted the exact same thing I had at this time.

This was a tough week for me as I was constantly on Skype, venting my frustrations. Up until this point I had been good about keeping a balance between my immersion experience and staying in touch with home, but I feel that an illness warranted extra attention from a more familiar place. I had to call the health insurance company several times to set up a doctor’s appointment and when I finally was able to I had to go to the hospital it was on the complete other side of the city. It was frustrating but I was sick so I sucked it up brought some tissues and hopped on the tram. It took me a while to find the foreign desk, mostly because I was an idiot and had gotten off the tram one stop too late (this was prior to the opening of the new train station for the hospital). So I wandered through the parking lot until I finally found it. The people there were very nice and my doctor was very comforting, there was a medical student from Charles University there so we were able to talk briefly about studies.

The doctor confirmed my suspicions of my self diagnosis, gave me my prescription and sent me on my way.

The grey weather of the week matched my mood, unfortunately I had been miserably sick during the one nice week in this winter season in Prague.

However, I was set up to go the the national symphony again with babička which I enjoy quite a bit but I am always exhausted by the time we sit down I almost doze off (I have class non-stop for about 9 hours).

I had planned on heading up on my free day on Tuesday to get a full tour of Prague Castle before I begin to buckle down and study for my midterms.Czech has definitely been simmering on the back burner and I need to pay more attention to it with a sense of urgency if I want to do well on the midterm.

Leave a comment