Not Jaded Yet

And here it is… I am officially underway with my second contract on ships. I was put on a bigger ship with a much more erratic itinerary. Finally, I was on a ship that I could actually travel the world on. Italy, Greece Croatia, Spain, Portugal, Bermuda, Mexico, Belize, Honduras, the list goes on. My bucket list locations are in some of these places and I can’t wait to experience them for myself. After a difficult first contract I feel like I have been rewarded.

However, as I step onto this ship I realize I am not accustomed to the freedoms that these crew members have been fortunate to experience. I was always told to follow the rules to the letter or else you would suffer some pretty stupid circumstances. But here I was. In a more liberated environment. I feel like a warrior who is experiencing civil life for the first time ever. People out of uniform constantly, free time, etc. I feel lost. Happy but lost. Maybe confused is a better term. With all of this freedom this ship seems more stream lined, more organized than my last ship. It’s odd. After all of that fuss this new ship came out better with less oversight. However, the family feel is lacking on this ship. It maybe because I have arrived at a time before a large turnover is about to happen in my department but I don’t think that is entirely the case. But then again it is highly probable. Being that it is hard to make friends with someone who is leaving in a few weeks and whom of which you will probably never see again. That’s ship life for you.

The food is better than my last ship both above and below sea level in this case it makes me wonder if they just lower their standards on the party ship in general since most people are too drunk to realize how mediocre and average the food was.

So far the European itinerary has treated me very well, even though we will not be on it much longer. Which upsets me a little since we will be moving from places that have history and culture to beaches and sunshine again. I know, I know, I hear your tiny violin playing. These “dusty ports” of Europe have more to offer that I have and do not have the time to see and it is quite sad. I say dusty in the most endearing and yet literal sense. The civilizations of old standing tall before you, casting shadows in the early autumnal sunlight. The breeze picks up just enough to transport you back in time as you close your eyes to imagine how it must have looked in its prime. What it truly felt like as you gazed from the top of the Acropolis from the Parthenon. And when you open your eyes again you see the modern city of Piraeus that has unfolded over the last few centuries with typical ugly modern architecture and small, narrow, winding streets. And now you realize how much dirt you are covered in from the breeze. Not to worry as you will wash off later having experienced something many people are not able to or simply will not experience in their life time.

Now I know little of these next ports in my next itinerary but I’m sure the ancient Mayans will try not to disappoint me in my quest for experience and adventure. I hope I will be able to find some more gems when we set sail to these sandy beaches. I do enjoy snorkeling and exploring but I just did a 6 month contract that only had that, I was kind of hoping for something a bit different. But no complaints. Just a perspective that I could be seeing more and learning with my free time rather than lounging around on beaches. I am a life long learner always hoping to see what lies just beyond.

 

 

Leave a comment